A D
Alexis Drewicki

5 years ago

Hi there.  Extremely happy to have found this site.  I was about 12 when my father bought a Knitking manual machine and taught himself how to knit with it.  That was about 60 years ago.  He had just taken a barbering course and found idle hours created boredom!  He taught me how to use it and, sporadically throughout my adult years, I have dabbled with knitting by machine.

I have very recently purchased a KH 940 Brothers machine and am in the process of figuring it all out.  This site plus you-tube are a Godsend!  In all the years of dabbling in the art, like my father before me, i am entirely self-taught.  Its lovely to have such instant access to visual and audio assistance and sites such as Knit It Now.  Those of you in the younger generation are extremely fortunate🙂

I have tubs of yarn (as do many of you I'm sure) but I've determined in the past few days, that I require a chunky machine in addition to the KH 940 plus more suitable yarn, or I'm going to wreck it.  I'd certainly appreciate any advice on what would be an affordable , functional option to consider.

I live in Northern Canada.  The weather is pretty cold for a fair portion of the year so heavier sweaters, toques, scarves and even coats are conceivable options in the garments I'd like to be able to produce.

Now its time to check out some more information here and everywhere possible.

Many thanks to you all. 

Lucky (Alexis) Drewicki

S J
Sue Jalowiec

5 years ago
Hi Alexis!
Thanks for taking time to share your story with our little group!

You are a officially a true machine knitter .. thinking about a second machine.  They do tend to multiply like rabbits!  ðŸ˜„

Unless you are working with really thick yarn (like hand spun) you might consider a mid-gauge machine.  I've found that they take a nice wide range of yarns.