A S
Anita Swift

3 years ago
Hi  - a rookie question:
Is there such a thing as single bed jacquard, or does jacquard always involve a ribber?
I have a KH970 and a single bed colour changer and I am just trying to figure out what I can and can't do.
I also have DAK - which I am just learning the ropes of.
I could just experiment and see what happens ðŸ˜„ but I thought I might waste less time and yarn if I tried to understand the principles first.
Any explanations or pointing towards resources will be gratefully received!
Thanks,
Anita
J G
Joy Green

3 years ago
Hi Anita, I don't think you can without a ribber.
Best regards
Joy
S G
SANDEE GIMBLETT

3 years ago
Anita,
GOOD QUESTION!  I consider myself a fairly advanced machine knitter and I've wondered the same thing.  I've seen the terms single-bed jacquard and double-bed jacquard in machine knitting magazines and I, too, like Joy, thought you had to have a ribber.  Could your question be related to single bed and double bed color changers?  I've wondered about those two terms, too.
Sandee in Washington State
J B
Jenny M Benson

3 years ago
I've never heard of "single bed jacquard".  I always understood "jacquard" to mean a fair isle-type fabric which is created with both beds, such that the ribber produces a backing layer which encloses the floats created by forming the coloured pattern on the main bed.  I suppose if people use the term "single bed jacquard" they just mean what most of us call fair isle.

When I was very much a newbie to the ribber I was misled into thinking that a double bed colour changer would automatically create jacquard.  This is not the case - it merely facilitates the process by making it quick and easy to change the yarn in the feeder every 2 rows.  Likewise, the single bed colour changer does not create multi-coloured fabric, it simply allows you to change the selected yarn as required.

Jenny 
S G
SANDEE GIMBLETT

3 years ago
Jenny,