R A
Renée Adams

2 years ago

Hello,

I am Renée Adams from a small town in the upstate region of New York in the US.  I have the Silver Reed LK 150 mid gauge machine.  I am new to machine knitting and have not knit my first garment yet. I am still working on it. 

I think I need a new sponge bar and I would like your advice on the best type, brand, and where is the best place to purchase it.

Also do you have any experience with the Hague Linker (manual or electronic)?  Is it easy to use?   How do you like how it seams?  Is it a bulky seam?  I would love to hear your thoughts and recommendations.

Would any one of like to be my MK buddie?  I could surely use a friendly, kind, compassionate, warm, and helpful person to help nudge me along.    

I am looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you.

Renée Adams

S J
Sue Jalowiec

2 years ago
Hi Renée!
Welcome to the world of machine knitting!  You will have lots of fun with your LK-150. It's such a versatile machine, you can do sooo much with it without a lot of fuss.

I highly recommend Spongebar.com for replacement sponges

I'm sorry I have no experience with the Hague Linker, Hopefully someone here can be of help.

One tip for seams that aren't so bulky is to use a finer yarn than your garment yarn for your seams.  Or use fewer plys.  So if you are knitting with a 4 ply yarn, pull a strand apart and work your seam with 2 plys.

Please don't hesitate to post here.  If you have a question, more than likely someone else does too!

Sue

J L
Julie Lyons

2 years ago
Hello, Renee! I have a Hague Electric Linker, D280E. It was quite helpful when I was doing a lot of machine knitting. I don’t use it much anymore. If you should decide you want one, I’d be happy to sell it to you are a good price. Just let me know.

Julie Lyons
M C
Marie-Jo Chaminade-Saintesprit

2 years ago

Welcome Renee!